my lady saw me weep: words

my lady saw me weep

awash with empty sorrow

nothing she had done or said

nothing she could do or say

nothing she could ease or soothe

nothing she could give or take away

my lady saw me weep

I eat and sleep of nights

I veg and watch TV

couch maniac and sex potato

I’ll probably live a little yet

life’s knocked the stuffing out of me

the straw man has become the man of spam

not defeated yet but giving ground

to gain an inch I have to fight a mile

a coward spoiling for a fight

so much is wrong and I

am tired and uninspired to put it right

a many splintered thing is misery

and so I float

light as a ghost

nobody does sad like me

 

kind words and happy endings get me

going everytime

so many have just cause to cry

so much of grief that all

human tears were far too dry

so tongue in cheek,  I

slyly peep

smile the melancholic

crocodile

 

old head on young shoulders

young mind in an old frame

the pristine and decrepit

co-mingled middle age

my lady saw me weep

awash with empty sorrow

nothing she had done or said

nothing she could do or say

nothing she could ease or soothe

nothing she could give or take away

my lady saw me weep

3 thoughts on “my lady saw me weep: words

    • Indeed it is. Any attempt to singalong with the recording is likely to result in confusion. A footnote will be added to these words to clarify but just hadn’t got round to it. Please look at this post again soon.

  1. I read again, and can certainly identify with the lyrics. :-/

    Would like to hear it sung some time, but promise not to record. ;->

Leave a Reply

