my lady saw me weep

my lady saw me weep 2.1 (c) 2010 written and performed by Cameron Pyke, this recording (c) 15 Sept 2010 by Cameron Pyke & Ambisonix, remastered by Ambisonix.

my lady saw me weep 2.0 (c) 2010 written and performed by Cameron Pyke, this recording (c) 15 Sept 2010 by Cameron Pyke & Ambisonix.

Work in Progress, complete with mistakes and issues as one take, no edits or overdubs.

22 October 2010

This piece has been ‘up’ for some time now without any comment on my part. It’s doing quite well on the stats – second highest performer – my thanks to everyone who’s brought this about.

It’s a pretty little tune.  I think I can say that fairly safely without compromising my modesty – at least the public face of it. Hey, nobody does this sort of thing without a grossly inflated ego.

The title is an inversion of ‘I Saw My Lady Weep’ by John Dowland. It’s not entirely serious,  not really a pastiche …and, let’s face it, not fit to be compared with the Dowland.  Maybe it conjures up Tudor ladies tripping some stately moves round their handbags. However, the harmony is  a ragbag of clunky triads and jazz chords.  Add to this some quasi-Flamenco razzing and you’ve got a real mongrel. But it hangs together!

On a scale of moderate self harm to full slitting of the wrists how suicidal does it seem? Nah, not really.

There are words. It was a song once. I played a recording to some people. Once. It was so ‘orrible I decided to amputate the tune from the words. But being a frugal sort and not averse to a bit of affectation I kept the words with the tune. You’ve heard of Mendelsohn’s Songs Without Words? This a Song What is Not Meant to be Sung But Has Got Words Anyway. You may appreciate the conceit even if the label needs working on.

The words are published as a separate post. Feel free to have a look. It’s lament on middle age graced by maybe one snatch of grim humour. I make no apologies. The likes of Roger Waters have got very rich bleating on in much the same vein.

And yet it’s a pretty tune. This reminds me of when I used to (several lifetimes ago) sell fine art reproductions – packaged in a rather dubious format.  I really shouldn’t be owning up to this, serious artist and all that.  It paid the rent.

Anyway, Kandinsky pictures sold like hot cakes. Well, they would. They’re… PRETTY!

Certain influential Russians didn’t like Kandinsky because he was individualistic and bourgeois. The Nazis exhibited and then burnt (Arts Council take note) some of his work because it was degenerate.  I cannot honestly admit to being moved by any profound political message emanating from a Kandinsky picture. Maybe it’s because I’ve never seen an original. Personally I find about as much controversy in a Kandinsky picture as an episode of Sesame Street. That doesn’t mean it’s not great art.

Conversely, I heard a customer say “Oh, I love that Guernica…have you got a Guernica? What about a nice big Guernica for the dining room wall?…so relaxing…”  Not for me to tell her that Guernica was a snapshot of genocide in progress.  And for that reason I would never have  had a Guernica on the stall. Shame, missed a sale there.

Leave a Reply

